Tags

,

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

It pains me to say that Angelfall sat on my Kindle for nearly three weeks after I bought it before I actually started reading it.  Luckily, a friend had already “cracked out”, as she likes to say, on Susan Ee’s brand of heavenly goodness and made sure that I got my a$$, er wings, in gear.

I’ll start with a little disclaimer that if you can’t handle reading material that is a sometimes more than a little dark and disturbing, this might not be the book for you.  Having said that, though, I must also say that Ee writes in such a way that even the disturbing is beautiful…a feat not undertaken by many but mastered by this amazing new author.  Her characters are believable and remain true throughout the story and the plot is fresh and gripping – sometimes in a loving chokehold kind of way.

Penryn is not the dominant female voice that I usually love in a lead. I’m not saying that she’s weak…she’s definitely not…I just didn’t feel like I necessarily knew her as well as I would have liked by the end of the book. Surprisingly, though, I totally didn’t care.  The dire situation with Penryn’s family and her complicated relationship with Raffe (who has one of the greatest lines I’ve read in a book recently, by the way) were so captivating, that I found myself at the end of the book only hours after I started, desperate to prolong the journey.  And, as I’m all for impossible romance and completely against spoilers of any kind, I’ll just say Angels plus Humans equals Big No-No.  I know, you’re excited already, right???  Me too, only I’m excited for the second book (due this summer)!!

Angelfall is a stellar post-apocalyptic novel with plot twists I definitely did not see coming…dystopian hasn’t looked this good since The Hunger Games.

I eagerly rate this book 5 Stars    

Angelfall at Amazon: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, Book 1)

