Tags

, ,

Review written by Alana

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder. 

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

First, I need to say that I am a sci-fi junkie.  I love Star Wars, Stargate, and Star Trek.  I’ve read all the Dune novels—more than once—and there is nothing like a good “out of this world” mystery.  That said, I also do not like sci-fi strictly for its science part of it.  The story line must be there.  I love layers upon layers of the worlds that the writers build.  I love characterization and interactions between people among the chaos of a sci-fi world.  I love Star Wars because it’s riddled with good vs. evil, love, choices, and surviving against the odds.  Sci-fi appeals to me because it adds another layer of what ifs to our everyday life.  I mean, imagine you are a leader of a group of people who are isolated and stranded.  You are trying everything you can think to help them survive.  Now imagine being in a space ship a million miles from earth…it adds a whole other set of problems.

Across the Universe is similar to The Host in that it uses aspect of the sci-fi genre, but essentially it is about relationship interactions and the consequences of people’s actions.  The chemistry between Elder and Amy is fantastic.  The set of circumstances that Amy wakes up to is intriguing.  How would you react if you woke up and everyone you knew was either dead or still frozen?  She doesn’t just accept what is happening to her and move on.  She questions everything; she is really pissed off, and of course depressed.  Her reactions are real to me.  Of course I don’t agree with all of her decisions or responses, but the author remains true to her character.

Elder is enigmatic. Can you imagine being mature enough to lead people at 16?  But he definitely is not your typical 16 year old.  In fact, I forgot that he was only 16 many times while I was reading; however,  then he would do something a typical 16 year old boy would do and I would become more drawn into his character.  I love how the author only gives us teasers into his thinking though—it is enough to grab the reader, but at the same time keeps him mysterious.

The entire story is rich and layered to keep the reader on their toes.   Just when I think I had it all figured out, the author flips the plot.  I don’t get surprised by the climax of books very much, but this one totally gave me a slap in the face.   I give this book a strong 5 stars!!!

Across the Universe on Amazon:  Across the Universe

